Washington Business Journal: Here's who made the Washington Business Hall of Fame this year

Junior Achievement of Greater Washington, the Greater Washington Board of Trade and Washingtonian magazine announced Wednesday the four laureates named to their 2016 Washington Business Hall of Fame.

This year’s group comprises Diane Hoskins, co-CEO of architecture firm Gensler; Tony Nicely, chairman and CEO of Geico; Kenneth Samet, president and CEO of MedStar Health; and Gary Tabach, managing partner of Greater Washington of Deloitte & Touche LLP.

The honorees were selected for their business accomplishments, leadership, integrity and values and community engagement. They “are an example of what’s possible from our region’s business leaders” and provide “a lesson in leadership for Greater Washington’s future business leaders, innovators and entrepreneurs,” said Ed Grenier, president and CEO of Junior Achievement of Greater Washington, in a statement.

The group accepts nominations from the public and a committee led by representatives of the founding organizations makes the final selections.

The Washington Business Hall of Fame recognizes individuals from the region’s business community for their philanthropic and professional contributions. More than 100 laureates have been recognized since its founding in 1988.

Hoskins, Nicely, Samet and Tabach will be honored at an awards ceremony and gala Nov. 30, presented by Capital One, at the National Building Museum. The annual gala, which benefits Junior Achievement, is expected to raise more than $1.4 million to support the organization’s K-12 programs.